Introspection & Reflection

Change Happens

Just a few more weeks left.  If nothing else, I can say that enrolling in the DET program at CMU does cause time to fly by faster than ever.  I cannot believe that Thanksgiving is right around the corner which means that the end of the semester is looming and getting closer and closer all of the time.

I think that I am getting the hang of this online thing more and more as the time goes on.  If anyone ever tells me that my program must have been easier because it is online, I will tell them that they are crazy.  I think that I pour more time and effort into projects in this type of atmosphere because I am not in communication with others in the class as much as I would like to be.  I am one who likes to compare my work to other people’s work and do what I think is just a little bit better than someone else does. I can’t do that with this program.  This means that it is difficult sometimes as to where to draw the line; where do I say, “Well, that is the best that I can do!”  I keep going through and revising and changing things.  It is difficult to stop, but I do…at some point.

One thing that I have noticed is that even though this is very early on in the program, I feel more open to exploring what others have to say and reading the research that is already out there on a variety of educational topics.  I can tell that my ideas about certain ideas and concepts in regards to teaching are already changing or being modified by what I read and also the discussion that I have with the others in the cohort.  I have always one been to question why or to want to dig deeper, and that urge to do so is even stronger.  I find that I am choosing to read research articles that I can use not only for the courses that I am currently taking but also articles that are modifying how I see things in my job.  I know that there are times that I am excited about a certain findings in supported information in an article that has nothing to do with the course that I am reading it for, and that is OK.  It just means that I need to read more and to encourage others around me to do the same.  I do share articles with others, but maybe I need to do more than that.  Maybe it is time to carve out time to discuss the articles I am sharing, too.  After all, if I want to discuss more things with my cohort, it only makes sense that I should also want to discuss more topics with the people I share articles with at work.

Digging deeper and trying to understand more of the world around me while also realizing that change will be the result.  Change in regards to beliefs, practices, and ideas is a complementary occurrence, and when it does, should be grounded in facts and research.

Leave a Reply

