Introspection & Reflection

Week 15

It seems as if every three weeks I have a need to write about my journey to date through the first semester of my Ph.D. program.  I probably should wait until the end of this week to write this, but I can always write another post, right?

Today, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed, but I am also feeling somewhat accomplished at the same time.  I am not yet done with all that I need to do which accounts for the feeling of being overwhelmed.  I just finished my last annotated bibliography, I think.  I want to go back through and make sure that I did not miss any of them.  (To be honest, I don’t think that I did, but I have to admit with an online class, there are times that I forget that I have things that I have to do.  That is one part of an online course that I do not like.  If I forget something, there is no one else to interact with to help me remember what I am supposed to be doing.)  As for the feeling of being accomplished, well, that comes from the realization that even if I forgot to do something, I know that I completed almost everything that I was asked to do in the time frame that I was asked to do it in.  To some, that might not mean a lot.  However, for someone juggling a full-time job, a family and a Ph.D., that does mean a lot.  Many people have hobbies that they enjoy doing; I guess for me, my hobby is learning.  While other people might be creating scrapbooks or hiking, I enjoy learning.  Yes, I could pursue a less expensive hobby, but it is something that I enjoy doing.

Leave a Reply

