Introspection & Reflection

Second Semester and the End of the Second Week

The second semester is well underway, and I think that I am finally getting the hang of what is expected of me this semester.  It was not a pretty start, and there are definitely things that I am still learning; I still have that feeling hanging over me that I have forgotten to do something.  I just hope that it is something small and not something big that I cannot recover from not completing on time.

The classes that I am taking this semester revolve around quantitative research methods and learning tools in technology.  The combination was well thought out.  I was dreading the quantitative research methods course, as I am more comfortable describing and analyzing what I see without using numbers all of the time.  I think that comes from being a teacher and analyzing what is going on in the classroom so that I can adjust what I teach and do in order to benefit the students sitting in front of me.  I see the use for numbers and statistics, and I look forward to being a lot more comfortable with this type of research methodology.  Anyway, balancing this course with the course incorporating learning tools in technology allows me to take a break from one to concentrate on the other.  To be honest, it really goes both ways.  There are times that I need a break from all of the new tech tools that we are using in the learning with technology course, so I am happy to go back to learning about numbers and statistics.

In addition to the courses that we are taking this semester, we have just been introduced to the Independent Inquiry Project that we are to begin working on now and will complete April 2017.  (That date seems very far away, but I am sure will be here before I know it.)  I have no idea what I am going to work on.  I guess I will need to figure that out pretty soon.  There is the list that I started when I completed my Elevator Pitch at the end of last semester.  That’s a start, so I need to begin looking into a few of those things to see which one leads me in the direction that I want to go.

All in all, it has been a good start to the second semester into this program.  Would I recommend it to others?  So far, the answer is a resounding yes.  I have learned and shared a lot with other people where I work, and I know that I will continue to do so.  In the end, I am not the only one to benefit from this program.  Isn’t that the purpose of learning – to share with others?

Leave a Reply

